College: Winter Term

Woohoo!  I’m keeping up to speed with the updating, even if it is almost tomorrow.  Did that make sense?  Cuz it’s so late?  Man I hope I’m not this awkward on the radio…that wouldn’t make for much of a career.

Thanks for the positive feedback and thoughts on my previous post!  It’s lovely to hear from y’all even if I’ve been away for awhile.  Winter Term at NCC was the term that snuck up on me and sped by; I blinked and it was already week 8!!  In a way, it was a blessing.  The new year proved to be a bigger challenge than I was expecting it to.  I started Winter Term as an education major enrolled in an Intro to Teaching class.  At the end of the first week of classes, I knew that I had to get out of there quickly.  I didn’t know what my calling was, but I knew that I wasn’t cut out to be a teacher.   I have the utmost respect to everyone who pursues education, because I didn’t have it in me.  Week 4, I had so many meetings with different advisors and professors, who all wanted what was best for me.  With that being said, I withdrew from my education class, dropped the major, and switched to political science.  I’ve always been fascinated with the law and politics, so this seemed to be where I’d be best at home.  As soon as I officially switched majors, it was like a huge weight had been lifted off of my shoulders.

I faced an unexpected challenge during Winter Term; I’ve always enjoyed the warm months and even into fall because everything is beautiful.  However, after Christmas, New Year’s, and even Valentines Day I get a touch of seasonal depression; nothing serious, but enough to make me dreary and not want to get out of bed some mornings.  It came at an unfortunate time and hit me unexpectedly…I was finally falling into a good crowd at school and figuring out schooling and where I wanted to end up in the future, but something was off internally.  To top things off, Ed and I hit a few rough patches through those 10 weeks.  Valentines Day came and went and, being a hopeless romantic, I was really looking forward to spending the weekend with him.  Our first Vday was perfect; we packed a picnic and went body sledding on a frozen hill by my house, where I used to play as a child.  It was really picturesque and wonderful and so new – I had thought he was going to say the long awaited “L WORD” on Vday but ended up being a bit too nervous and unsure of how I was feeling (HAHA).  But, I digress.

Ed had decided to take the semester off of school to focus on getting a full time job as his child support was increasing as Noah got older, so even though he was looking for a full time job, he was still only getting 14-20 hours at his current job, which isn’t enough to support Noah, himself, and his girlfriend on Vday so we laid low and made cookies on the 13th, and went to his sister’s voice showcase the next day with his whole family.  It was a nice weekend, but I felt like he passed by relatively unscathed.  It seems incredibly superficial, but I don’t think he wished me a happy Vday the whole weekend, which makes me a little sad.  It sparked a huge fight between the two of us but we eventually patched the hole and moved on.

A big blessing that I got during Winter Term was finding my close friends.  Taylor and  I became close with two boys our age on the football team, Adam and AJ.  The boys weren’t roommates but lived on the same floor as each other, and Tay and I grew close with many of the boys on Seager 2; however, she and I both say that Adam and AJ are our favorites.  We are still close to this day and I consider them two of my very best friends.  We’re actually all in the same residence hall on the same floor (!!!!) this year, and I can’t wait to have practically all my best friends living in such close proximity.

I know Winter Term was a little on the lame side, but it honestly was such a blur and went by so quickly.

OH!  I ALMOST FORGOT!!!  For Christmas, my parents surprised me with two meet & greet passes to my FAVORITE artist Ron Pope’s show in Chicago on February 26th.  Initially I was going to bring Ed but decided to go with his little sister Maggie instead.  We had the most amazing night and Ron Pope sang my favorite songs, gave me three hugs, and absolutely positively made me fall in love with his music all over again.  That was the third time I have gotten the privilege of seeing him perform live and it never gets old.  I’ll be showing my children his music one day.

Alas, I’m losing motivation for this one.  All in all, Winter Term was a good one.  I’d give it a 7/10 – and that’s with the gross weather!

xoxo

IMG_4251

My roommate/best friend/partner in crime was being a SASSY bitch and took SO many sleeping Rachel pictures during Winter Term.

IMG_4374

Taylor, AJ, Adam, and I at the Brunswick Zone near school.  This was one of the first nights we all hung out (not pictured are all of our other guy friends lol) and it was a BLAST!

IMG_4397

Sonata killin’ it at Clash of the Sequins Showchoir Competition – 2.13.2016

IMG_4399

The only picture we took on Valentines Day, and it was actually the night before.

IMG_4502

Mags and I waiting for Ron Pope! We were actually the front of the line and were FREEZING by the time we got in.  Ron actually walked past us a few times and said “can’t wait to see you in there!” and I nearly passed out.

IMG_4501

AHHH!!!  RON FREAKING POPE!!!!  I still get butterflies when I think about this moment.  PSA: He’s a really good hugger.

1457221510900

Awwww my lil fam.  This was the day after the RP concert and even though I had a huge helping of Post Concert Depression, they helped make it better.  (Adam, AJ, Me Tay).

Leave a Reply

