Since when am I allowed to be an adult?? (28 days!!!)

I move out in 28 days.  That’s insane.  Literally, in 670ish hours, I will be officially moved out of my parent’s house and into my dorm room.  Living as an independent adult.  (Cue: On My Own, Les Miserables).  I’m toooooooooooooooooooooo excited for college.  I’ll be attending North Central College in Naperville, Illinois, to study secondary education and theatre.  Even though NCC is only 20 minutes away from my house, I’m living on campus to give me the whole “College Experience” thing that everyone raves about.  What is this beloved rite of passage that all pre-college students hold so sacred?  I couldn’t be any less clued in.  But regardless, I’m excited!  Recently, I’ve gotten more nervous about moving out that I have been before.  It’s a comfort to know that I’ll be so close to home, but I’ve never gone longer than, like, a week without being with my family.  I know, lame right??  I love my family and I’d say that we’re pretty tight-knit.  My mom is for sure my best friend and the one who I know I’m going to miss the most.  I’m pretty sure it’s going to be harder for her than it is for me, if you can believe that.  We’ve already cried about it like seven times and I still have a month left.  I know it’s a net chapter in my life, but there’s a small part of me that doesn’t want to move on.  I really found myself in high school, more specifically junior and senior years, and I could definitely have gone another year to take the classes that I was never able to and have my favorite teachers one more time.  Now, I have to live with someone who I’ve met only once before, and I have to make a whole new circle of friends, not to mention that we’re supposed to do it in the four days they give us before we start college classes.  That’s like a full load of AP classes.  Shit.

Sorry.  Back to reality.  I’m nervous but excited and it hasn’t really set in yet.  Over the course this next month I have to pack my clothes that I’m taking for first term, pack all my new furniture and dorm supplies, start my job at the Naperville Sbux, and say goodbye to one of my best friends who’s going to University of Iowa (196 MILES AWAY).  There’s a lot to do, so I’m gonna get to it. 😬11044639_1059581294056089_2980998733190863699_o Photo on 6-17-15 at 3.24 PM

Leave a Reply

